A Missionary Christmas

December is filled with family traditions and not a day goes by that I don’t think about Nathan (aka Elder Wainwright) and miss him.  I got his package mailed, but realized that he needed some of the fudge we made – really, what is Christmas without fudge?   And then I thought he needs to see the ornament we got him from our trip to the Grand Canyon this year.  And then . . .    So another trip to the post office for this missionary mom.

A Missionary Christmas

(author unknown)

I skipped the sales after Thanksgiving. The thrill just wasn’t there.

No pictures taken with Santa Claus, My decorating has no flair.

His presents are shoes, shirts, and ties, two suits and socks…no fun.

I’ve bought him all white clothes because…

This year I’m giving Christ my son.

I’ve spent more time in the temple, my testimony stirred.

I’ve reread November’s Ensign, felt strength come from His words.

Our family prays more frequently. My tears are quick to run.

Abraham seems closer because,

This year I’m giving Christ my son.

I wonder how those Lamanite mothers, gave their sons to war?

Or how the pioneers chose Zion , their sacrifice was so much more.

My loss will be his presence, I’ll miss his smile a ton

For two years we will pray for him,

I’m giving Christ my son.

I stare at his face when he’s not looking. I memorize his eyes, their shine.

He’s always hungered for the part of him that makes his soul divine.

The stories and lessons he always heard, his choice and mine are one.

I’ll put my faith in God’s hand. This year,

I’m giving Him my son.

Past gifts have lost their glitter. I think I finally understand:

Christ’s birth should be celebrated by giving Him a hand.

It’s because I know Christ lives and reigns that all his packing’s done.

My gift has taken years to make,

This year…I’m giving Christ my son.

Here is an update on Elder Wainwright:  Elder Wainwright still has his sense of humor – We sent him a package filled with little gifts for the Twelve Days of Christmas so that he can open a gift every day.  His reply: “Thanks so much for the Christmas packages! I opened them all already.. just kidding.  I got one from Grandma Wainwright the same day and I got a letter from Grandma Brennan with some money in it too.  All of the above are very appreciated.  .  ”  Joker!  Elder Wainwright gets a new companion today so we will be interested in hearing all about him next week.   A man called the Bishop and said he had some questions for the missionaries.  When they met with him, he accepted an invitation to be baptized.   The young woman, J…, who has set December 29th to be baptized has been sick for two weeks and still needs to meet with the missionaries before then.  T…  has been reading the Book of Mormon, but smoked a cigarette this last week.  D…  is doing great – Elder Wainwright can’t wait to see her get baptized.   And Stephanie Meyers, who wrote the Twilight series lived in one of his wards so a lot of members know her pretty well.   Rereading his email, I am already looking forward to reading the next one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Missionary Christmas

  1. Verla Brennan says:

    Beautiful poem! Brings the true meaning of Christmas! It’s hard “mom” but tears cleanse our hearts and reminds us of the sacrifice Heavenly Father gave us! In two years they will be tears of joy!

Leave a Reply

