Happy New Year!!!

2013!  I can hardly wait to see what new and exciting opportunities this new year will bring!  I had the opportunity to have a birthday last week.  I had a thought run through my head that I couldn’t get rid of – “Am  I a better person this year than I was last year?”  I hope so!  I think that one of the ways to become a better person is to truly become converted to God.  According to the scriptures that means changing our beliefs, our hearts and our lives to conform to the will of God.  In the Book of Mormon, King Benjamin taught his people about God, Jesus Christ and what they needed to do to be saved.  When he asked them if they believed his words,  they cried “yea, we believe all the words which thou hast spoken unto us; and also, we know of their surety and truth, because of the Spirit of the Lord Omnipotent, which has wrought a mighty change in us, or in our hearts,  that we have no more disposition to do evil, but to do good continually.” There are times in my life that I have felt this might change in my heart and have felt like shouting that I too have no more disposition to do evil, that I will walk uprightly before God and keep His commandments – one year at a time.  I hope all of you have a wonderful 2013 and in whatever way you can – big or small – make a commitment to be a better person.

Enough about me – here is Nathan’s email: OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Alright, a quick update on the work.  Very satisfying week.  T… and D… were baptized (in the same service) and that was for sure the highlight of the week.  But also, we got 2 referrals from other missionaries and one wants to be baptized already.  We just need to teach her.  The other one we met wants us to pray for her family, so that might turn into a baptism pretty quick.  Also, we met with E… finally, he told us he really wants to feed us – we started teaching him on Thursday and I think he has a lot of potential.  He speaks decent English, but we WILL NOT refer him to the Spanish Elders.  Just Kidding.  Also, we ran into a family where the father is a member who has been sealed in the temple.  The ward does not have his records so he has been less active for a long time.  We want to start working with the rest of his family. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABut as far as tracking, our mission uses a much more effective approach.  We knock on the door and offer to say a prayer with their family, help them recognize the spirit and try to squeeze a return appointment to start teaching them.  Still not a very effective use of time, but you do what you have to.  We do meet quite the people though.  Oh, I was asked to speak in church again and I got a nasty cold a few days before so I was super congested.  It was pretty fun trying to speak and not make nasty noises.  I bought the most beautiful tie to speak in last Monday – it is black with gray and red paisley’s.  But things are going very well, it was really good to talk to all of you last week, miss you all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year!!!

  1. Verla Brennan says:

    Keeping the commandments is a true commitment to God! Sometimes I think we take the Sacrament without thinking about our commitment. Nathan sounds well and happy! One more tie?

Leave a Reply

