A Few Thoughts on Love

I recently read an article by Russell T. Osguthorpe, a psychology professor at BYU, titled “What If Love Were Our Only Motive?”  He is not only friendly to everyone he sees on campus, but encourages his students to do the same.  He encourages them – and us – to show love to all those we come in contact with.  That love can come from a simple “hi” to an act of service.  I was reminded of this article as I read Nathan’s email.  Nathan has learned to see others as our Savior, Jesus Christ, sees them.  He feels their pain and wants to help.  What a great lesson for all us as we make our way through this journey we call life.

Last night may be the most scared I have been on my mission.  A few days ago some guy yelled at us from a little ways away, “I live in apartment 1166, stop by anytime.” So of course we were excited to do so!  We went in and when we got a closer look at him, he looked pretty nuts.  He had long stringy hair and a scraggly beard and perhaps the most intense, scary eyes I have ever seen.  He was very friendly.  And he loved his Bible.  The way he talked was kind of hard to understand, it was a pretty quiet muttering almost.  He kept mumbling about how he was fighting with the devil, and I believe that.  He kept saying something about blood on the carpet or something.  He very well may be insane.  We both just had a really bad feeling about it, I don’t think we will be going back inside his apartment.  But I do feel bad for the guy.  I do really want to help him, but I don’t know what we can do.  I think the best thing we could do for him is get him to the church and give him a priesthood blessing.  I couldn’t help but think of how Christ and the Apostles cast out devils; it made me wonder a little. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Few Thoughts on Love

  1. Verla Brennan says:

    A great lesson for us all. A Hi is always welcome and brightens my day. Some days I forget a friendly hello or smile but I sure feel better when I do.

    • camille1287 says:

      It is easy to get caught up in our own thoughts and worries, but sure makes a difference when we reach out to someone.

      Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

Leave a Reply

