Changes

I have learned through experience that the changes that happen in life – sometimes more often than we like – are blessings that cause us to grow and develop.  John and I have decided after living in the same house for almost twenty years it is time for a change.  Gulp!  We know that there are experiences and friendships waiting for us in a new home but it feels very safe and comfortable in our current one.  I couldn’t help but think about the changes people go through when Nathan told us he was made a District Leader.  That is a lot of change for a young man to undergo.  This time last year he was going to Prom and now he is doing so much more than making reservations for dinner.  But . . . I am sure that Nathan is doing a wonderful job at making the mission a positive experience for everyone.  I think Elder Marvin J. Ashton expressed Nathan’s nature best when he said, “Be one who nurtures and builds. Be one who has an understanding and forgiving heart, who looks for the best in people.  Leave people better than you found them.”  That is Nathan.

“Week 1 as district leader went pretty well.  The District meeting went alright and I have some ideas for this weeks District meeting.  The one part I hate about it (and training) is correcting people.  Not something I like to do.  I hate being the bad guy.  There’s some things that it’s just hard to lovingly give correction about.  But, I have a lot of help from older members of the zone who have a lot of experience.  On Wednesday I will get to do my first baptism interview.  I’m excited for that.  It was a pretty uneventful week, lots of meetings.  P day was Tuesday, transfer meeting and leadership meeting on Wednesday, Zone interviews for 5 hours on Thursday and District meeting on Friday.  Still taught 6 lessons though, which was the most in the zone.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changes

  1. Verla Brennan says:

    Busy Elder! Makes me feel lazy! He is serving his Lord and Savior and doing a great job! Everyone he meets in Phoenix is going to be blessed by his caring an devotion.

Leave a Reply

