“Look for the helpers”

When I opened my door this morning to go for a walk, I started singing “It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood” – in my head of course!  It is such a beautiful, peaceful time of the day.  The song reminded me of something I recently read about Mr. Rogers.  He related, “When (I) was a boy and would see scary things on the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers.  You will always find people who are helping.”  Isn’t that true?  And I don’t think it is just with the big disasters we have seen in recent weeks.  I think those “helpers” are around us everyday.  In fact, just the other day I was helping my grandson walk with one hand when I spilt his bag of Cheerios with the other.  Before I could even kneel down to pick them up there were several hands already helping.  And we received two pictures of Nathan from people he is helping in Arizona – and yet here they are helping his parents by sending us a glimpse into his day.  So I am thinking that there are a lot more “helpers” out there and I need to start looking for them.
photo-13
Here is what Nathan had to say this week:
 “Glad you got the picture from the service project, the lady who sent that has parents-in-law that lived in my last ward (which really feels like I left my home ward) and she would say whenever it got hot just stop in and she would make us a milkshake.  It reminded me of Grandma Wainwright.  We took her up on it a couple of times but I realize now that I had no idea what hot meant back then.  We hit 113 on Saturday which I think is the hottest it has been since I have been here.  It really isn’t as bad as it sounds though, I expected worse.  On a bike you don’t even sweat that bad because the wind is blowing in your face, but as soon as you stop you are just drenched.  I was able to go to Shana’s baptism on saturday and it was so great.
photo-4I definitely think they are one of the reasons I was sent down here.  They were really happy to see me.  I am still loving Peoria, it is a great place to be, there are rich members that give us stuff and feed us well, and our ward leaders are trying to help us find people to teach.  And, for the first time on my mission, I have access to 1st gear on my bike.    I have never needed it, nor do I now, but sometimes we have 1 1 races, where we go down to the lowest gear and pedal really hard but go really slow.  It is fun.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Look for the helpers”

  1. Verla Brennan says:

    So many ways we can be Helpers and sometime don’t stop to realize how many Helping Hands have helped Ron and I. Nathan and his testimony is such an inspiration to us.

    • camille1287 says:

      I know what you mean. I really believe that we have people help us every day – it is just a matter if we acknowledge that help.

  2. Cody Hilyard says:

    Wow! It looks like he is wearing a watch!

Leave a Reply

