Would I Rather have deer or a Javalina? Hummm

DSC_1273As I was pulling out of my driveway a few days ago, I looked out my window to see these creatures.  Deer are a common sight here and although they can be a problem for some people I never get tired of seeing them.  That is probably because they have left my yard alone.  About a month ago I was excited to see some big beautiful roses on my bushes but when I went back out a few hours later they were gone.  My initial thought was that perhaps some kids came and picked them but then I realized that the deer had eaten them.  Here is Nathan’s reaction “That is super funny about the deer. I have not seen one deer down here.  Lots of scorpions, a few rattlesnakes, hundreds of rabbits, and we saw a coyote jogging down the sidewalk one morning.  What I want to see is a Javelina, it’s a giant wild pig that is supposed to be super aggressive.”  What?  Of course I had to ask Google what the heck a javelina is.  javelinaThey are “a group of hoofed mammals originating from South America. Javelina are common in much of central and southern Arizona, including the outskirts of the Phoenix area, most of Tucson, and occasionally as far north as Flagstaff. Javelina form herds of two to more than 20 animals and rely on each other to defend territory, protect against predators, regulate temperature and interact socially.” Tough choice on which one I would rather have an encounter with:  the deer have never charged me but they did eat my roses.  Hummm . . . I wonder if javelinas eat roses?

I asked Nathan a few questions this week:  When are transfers?  (important to know since his birthday is next month and I don’t want to send a package to the wrong address) Transfers are on August 13 but I think I will stay here to finish training Elder Murdock.  I am pretty sure Elder Laititi will get transferred though, or maybe they will split our area.  What district are you in?  Funny story about what district I am in.  The Peoria North Stake is the newer developments up north and the whole stake makes up our district.  There is already a Peoria North district in the Peoria Stake so we are on the records as the Peoria North Stake District.  Have you spoken in Sacrament meeting or in other meetings?  I have not spoken in Sacrament meeting in this ward, but they did ask us to speak to the youth at mutual on Wednesday, but probably just one of us will go to do that.  Have you watched the 5000 Day Project?  (John and I watched it and it is a great you tube video)  You watched the 5000 Day Project?  Wasn’t that awesome?  Listening to the worldly music was super weird though, his election song has been stuck in our heads since we watched it with Sister Taylor.   Wasn’t that touching though?  I loved that video so much, why couldn’t I have had a brother?  Just kidding, I for sure got lucky with the family I have.  

Nathan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Would I Rather have deer or a Javalina? Hummm

  1. Verla Brennan says:

    Wow, scorpions. Wild hogs? Who would have thought! Wild life is an awesome thing!

Leave a Reply

