Several years ago I was serving as president of the Young Women in California.  I was fairly young and just trying to do what I thought I was supposed to when the Bishop of our ward came up to me, put his hand on my shoulder and said, “Thank you.”  I was a little taken back and was pretty sure that he thought I had done something that I should have done but hadn’t so I hesitantly asked for what.  This sweet man simply said “for everything you do.”  I learned a great life lesson from him that day – we don’t see in ourselves what others so easily observe.  I was reminded of this lesson this week as I read Nathan’s reaction to being asked to train another new missionary: “I feel like if President Taylor knew me better and knew about my shortcomings and inadequacies he wouldn’t keep asking me to train new missionaries.”  And then to read an email from a woman in his ward who had them over dinner:  “We enjoyed hearing about their hometowns, and all of the activities that they were involved with.  Although both of them could not say enough how wonderful their missions have been so far.  Elder Murdock seems to just role with the punches, and Elder Wainwright has such a wonderful spirit about him.  Both of these young men are more than impressive.”  And here is the picture she sent IMG_3665Nathan’s cool story of the week:  “last night we went trying to see some people in an apartment complex and we saw a family with a moving truck.  We talked to them, they were moving out, so our first thought was “no teaching opportunity” but of course we stayed and helped them move.  When we got everything loaded up, we offered to connect them with the missionaries in Texas, they said no, we offered them a Book of Mormon, and they said no.  we are always glad for the chance to serve but of course we were a little disappointed.  We started to bike away and a guy from his apartment balcony yelled at us so we went back and he told us he respected us for what we did and we told him about our calling to represent Christ.  Long story short, he has been looking for a church around here and we gave him the information for our church and he said he will be there.  Anyways, that just reminded me of why we serve people, it shouldn’t be out of us hoping to teach people, just out of sincere desire.”  Good reminder!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Verla Brennan says:

    It!s amazing how the service we do, seems like such a small thing and not worth mentioning. But in reality, it does. For every life we touch someone benefits and do make a difference in someone’s life. A smile or just a hello might make a difference.

  2. camille1287 says:

    It really is amazing how much difference one person can make in this world.

Leave a Reply

