iPads and Steaks

I had the opportunity to speak at a Young Women’s Evening of Excellence Sunday night.  I love to be around young people!  As I looked at these young women, whom I had never met, I was struck with well, how good they are.  Here they were on a Sunday night, at church – again – and looked happy to be there.  I was very touched to be asked to speak and hoped that I might say something of worth.  The theme the for the night was “It’s a Jungle Out There” and I had a lot of fun playing with it.  I decided that I would try to relate some of the Disney characters to the dangers of the jungle.  One of the first thing to come to mind was Kaa, the snake in The Jungle Book.   Kaa hypnotizes Mowgli, the man cub, by staring into the boy’s eyes and singing “trust in me.”  I related how sometimes we can get hypnotized and not even realize it.  I told of an experience I had with Nathan and Rachael a few years ago.  We were standing in line to board a cruise ship when Nathan commented that it would be nice when I had to turn off my phone.  I was surprised when Rachael agreed with him –my teenagers just told their mother to put away her phone!  It’s kind of funny to look back on that experience but at the time it really made me think.
Speaking of technical devices, Nathan received an iPad and iPhone today!  My understanding is that he will use devices to help “invite others to come unto Christ” by helping organize his time and to have more contact with investigators and members of his ward.  I am anxious to hear all about it.4bb51a4041df78775d3fca00019c98c5
Nathan had a few fun experiences to share this week:
One of the highlights was getting to spend a day with my favorite tall, goofy Swede.  Elder Stulen is one of my favorite missionaries  I have served with.  He has all of the Swedish fairy tales and stuff and we made him tell us all stories.  His thick accent just makes it easy to listen to him. I noticed the same thing teaching with him – people just listen attentively all the time.  
We also had some extra money on our card so we spent it on some rib eye stakes.  We talked to Preston and Bridgette and one night when they were gone we snuck into their backyard and grilled them up with their kids.  It was great, but I felt bad because we had steak and they left us burgers to cook for the kids.  I made a pretty good marinade for it though, it soaked all night and turned out great.
I am reminded of the saying “The more things change, the more they stay the same.”  iPad and steaks – hummm
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

