Good-bye Peoria, Hello Glendale

For years on my walks I would pass by my friend’s house and think how lucky she was to have so many pine trees that you couldn’t even see the house.  Then one day there was a sign advertising that a new development called The Pines would be coming soon.  So John and I jumped on it and bought a lot.  As I watched those beautiful pine trees come down, I felt like the Lorax in Dr. Seuss’s book: “I am the Lorax.  I speak for the trees.”  We were relieved to see that our trees remained standing (although they are looking a little stressed as of lately).  The Once-ler, in The Lorax, tells a young boy, “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”  I have thought about that this week since I noticed some of our trees are looking a little stressed.  It makes me think that it would probably be a good idea to carry some water over to my trees.  And of course I think of Nathan – because he does care, “a whole awful lot” about the people is serves with and those he serves.

The Niver Family, one of Nathan's favorites from Peoria

The Niver Family, one of Nathan’s favorites from Peoria

Nathan was transferred to Glendale last week.  “Funny thing about home now, it is one ward away from the Campo Bello and Country Gables wards where I started my mission, and it borders the Apache Park ward which is where I served in Peoria.  So just about all of my areas touch.  But there are 4 of us that live in this house, we live with Brother Fullmer, who is one of the most generous and thoughtful people I have met.  What is funny though, is he will come and sit and talk with all of us after we are done planning.  He is 75 years old, and he really loves missionaries.  It is a super great place to live.”

Elder Christensen and Elder Wainwright

Elder Christensen and Elder Wainwright

Nathan also has a new companion, Elder Christensen.  These two missionaries are trying to find their way around a new area.      “As far as missionary work, I kind of feel like a chicken running around with its head cut off.  For the first few days, we would get super lost pretty frequently.   We don’t know anybody and we live outside our ward boundaries.  This has been one of the toughest few days of my mission for sure.  But we are figuring things out a little.  When we had wi-fi I took some pictures of our “map” app, and we have pictures of the maps of our areas so it helps a little bit.  But it has been crazy for sure.  Thank goodness Elder Christensen has been pretty patient.”

So here in my little part of the world, I worry about the trees.  And Nathan worries about the eternal welfare of those he serves.  But all of us, if we “care a whole awful lot” can make this world a better place.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good-bye Peoria, Hello Glendale

  1. Verla Brennan says:

    What more can be said. Trees and souls. What a Geat comparison. Trees are much like souls, they need nurtured which is what Nathan and his companion and other Missionaries are doing.

Leave a Reply

