Thanksgiving

I suppose that, like most of the country, I have thought a lot about John F. Kennedy this past week.  My Dad once told me how he could remember exactly where he was and what he was doing when JFK was assassinated.  I don’t think I totally understood what he was trying to tell me until 9/11.  But now, unfortunately, I tell children that I remember where I was and what I was doing when I first heard about the attacks on our great nation.  I echo my Dad’s sentiments that I hope my children never have an experience like that in their lives.  But I digress.  JFK once said “As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.”  What great words to live by!   We pause at this time of year to reflect on the many blessings that are ours: this great nation where we live, all those who have fought and continue to fight for our freedoms, family and friends who enrich our lives, and most of all, our faith.  For all these things and so many more, I give thanks to a loving Heavenly Father.  I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Nathan is loving his new area – like I knew he would.  He is loving the people he is meeting:  “I think the highlight of the last little while has just been the people we are finding.  We have met some really cool people who have invited us back lately.  So that is always good.  We still meet quite a few angry people, but lately there have been some nice ones mixed in far as our day . . . We do meet some interesting people . . . see a lot of people doing drugs on the side if the road.”  When I asked about his day: “we study until 11 since DSC_0044-2Elder Christensen is new, then we will either do lunch or online proselytizing for an hour each.  These are good to do all at one time because we live a mile and a half outside of our ward boundaries so it is a pain to bike back and forth.  Then we will go out and try to meet ward members, active and less active, (we don’t know which are which since we are both new so we will just pick names off the roster) and we also have a list of potential and former investigators missionaries have worked with in the past.   But yesterday we met two people who seem like they are pretty open to the Gospel.  So there are for sure people to be found.”

I am really thankful that Nathan is meeting some wonderful people and is so happy.  One of the things that is at the top of my list of things that I am thankful for is  – We get to Skype with Nathan this Christmas!  I am so anxious to see that boy’s face!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving

  1. Verla Brennan says:

    Along with Camille, I too am Thankful for my freedom and all those who have fought and still fighting for my freedom. I am thankful for all those that help insure my safety such as the police and firefighters. Sometimes I take my freedom and all I have and enjoy for granted. I am thankful for Nathan and all the missionaries spreading the Gospel and touching people’s lives. I am thankful for my family and all they do and bring joy into my life!

    One small note, I can’t believe Elder Christensen is so much taller than Nathan! Nathan is not short! God Bless and keep him safe!

Leave a Reply

