A Great Thanksgiving

Although I knew that Nathan would learn a lot serving a mission – I guess I didn’t realize I would be learning right along with him.  Of course he is learning through experience and I am learning by observing.  Sometimes I marvel at the love Nathan has for people.  I really thing that he tries to see others as our Heavenly Father sees them.  This must be a blessing that missionaries receive as they spend their time serving His children.   I love to hear Nathan talk about the people he meets: the elderly gentleman that the Elders are currently living with,OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA B… who just got baptized, and so many others. Hearing him talk about the people he is serving makes me love them too!   We have had pictures sent to us
of Nathan having dinner with families.  There have been phone calls explaining that Nathan is serving in their area and are passing through and wondered if we had anything we would them to take to Nathan.  But I am really thankful for those who invite the missionaries into their homes to share a holiday.  Here is Nathan’s Thanksgiving experience:   ” Unless my life takes a pretty severe turn, I don’t think I will ever have a Thanksgiving like this one!  There is this family we are teaching, who invited us for dinner on Thanksgiving.  I wish I had a picture with them, I will get one soon, but both parents are pretty covered in tattoos…  had parents and a brother and sister-in-law in town and they were on their 3rd or 4th beer.  I wish I would have taken a picture of the table, I have never seen so much alcohol in one place in my life.  About an hour in they ran out and went to Wal-Mart to replenish the supply.  Needless to say, they all thought each other were a lot funnier than we did.  I think most of all, I have a strengthened testimony of the Word of Wisdom.  While we were all at the table, the 2 kids were just sitting watching TV, noticeably bored.  The parents are great, but their selfishness in wanting to have a good time together is completely robbing the kids of family memories and traditions and spending time together.  We went out and played catch with their son for a little bit, and I think it was enjoyed by all of us, because it was a lot more comfortable than being in there.  They were very respectful though, so no complaints about them.  Anyways, this was probably the most unique Thanksgiving I can remember.  We were laughing the whole way home though, it is pretty funny to look back on, two missionaries in white shirts and ties hanging out with a bunch of heavy drinkers.”
So a big thank you to this family for having my son over for a big turkey dinner!  But of course, I was worried so I sent a package.  And I finally nailed it!  “But Mom, we all loved that puzzle.  We got back from dinner around 5 and all 5 of us spend like 4 hours doing that puzzle.  Somewhere in the process (we are convinced it came this way) there was a missing piece.  Brother Fullmer was up until like 11:30 looking for it, but to no avail.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Great Thanksgiving

  1. Verla Brennan says:

    Nathan continues to amaze me and so miss seeing that big and heart felt smile! It really must have been a very different Thanksgiving! True to Nathan’s accepting and loving personality, I am sure the kids enjoyed having some attention and some love! I’m sure they will always remember the Elders at this Thanksgiving and someday except the Gospel!

  2. camille1287 says:

    He does have a very easy going personalty that makes others feel comfortable. I can only remember a few times when he seemed stressed or bothered – our family is very blessed to have him.

Leave a Reply

