On Being Mormon

Being a Mormon has always been a part of who I am and although I have never been a missionary I have had some really interesting conversations with friends of other faiths.  When I was in 8th grade a friend asked if I had been saved.  What an interesting question!  I don’t remember how I answered but I do remember how she answered when I asked how she knew she had been saved: “I’ve asked Jesus into my heart”.  I have thought about that over the years and have come to realize that I too have asked Jesus into my heart.  I happen to believe it takes a little bit more than just asking – like faith, repentance, good works – just to name a few.  My friend was (and I’m sure still is) a good person and someone I had a lot in common with.  If I could go back I would ask her more about what she believed and tell her more of what I believe.   Isn’t it funny how we think we know people and that they know us?  A few weeks ago I gave a Book of Mormon to one of my daughter’s friends.  He has been really interested in Nathan’s mission and I thought he might want to know what LDS missionaries teach.  After reading the introduction he asked my daughter if she knew Mormon was a prophet, she replied that she did.  He then asked her if he looked so stupid every time he asked someone if they were Mormon – did they think he was asking if they were Mormon, the prophet.  Sometimes you just have to smile.
And speaking of people who are learning more about the Mormons:  “So the family we spent Thanksgiving with came to church yesterday.  All except the father.  I think that he will have a really hard time letting go of their lifestyle.  I think they all will, but I think he will be the most stubborn. Something we have been talking about lately is how critical of a time this is for their 12-year-old son.  Depending on if his parents can make some changes, he will either finish his growing up years seeing his parents drink, smoke and get into trouble or his parents will have a major change and be able to help him stay away from that.  I don’t know if I have mentioned M… yet.   She is an impressive lady – she has one daughter that lives with her permanently and a couple of sons in California.  She is driving buses to earn money and she is also going to school, to be able to better her and her daughter’s lives.  I am impressed by that, she is working hard to live more comfortably.  We are planning on her being at church this next week.”
It occurs to me that for most people, myself included, are just trying are best to follow Jesus – to be like my friend and ask Jesus into our heart.  And hopefully we can be like my daughter’s friend – humble enough to acknowledge someone’s beliefs.  Even if it causes a smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Being Mormon

  1. Verla Brennan says:

    Reading this, I asked myself how many times in my life I have passed up the opportunity to share my beliefs. I have known and still do know people who are very good people (kind, caring, and doing the best that they know how). My parents and Grand parents were staunch Baptists but some of the best people I know. There are many good people that have never received the gospel and that is why I appreciate Nathan and the Missionaries that are reaching out to people. Not all of them will accept the message but I believe a seed has been planted and hopefully if not now, someday accept it.

    The friend of Nathan’s sister has to see what the Gospel does for the Wainwrights and is thinking about it and hopefully will someday accept the Gospel.

  2. camille1287 says:

    I think everyone can think back over their life and realize that there have been opportunities missed – good thing we can do something different tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

