Goodbye Glendale, Hello Phoenix

Every night for the last week before I went to bed I would think of all the things that I had to be grateful for that day.  As the week progressed I noticed that even during the day I would look for things that I could add to my list.  And then without even being conscious of it, during the day I would think “Oh, I am so thankful for. . .”  Often they were everyday occurences that I sometimes take for granted.  But most of all I realized how grateful I am for friends and family.   In general I do feel happier today than I did last week, so I guess that at least for me the experiment worked.  Now I think I will work on expressing gratitude.   Thomas S. Monson said, “To express gratitude is gracious and honorable, to enact gratitude is generous and noble, but to live with gratitude ever in our hearts is to touch heaven” (“The Divine Gift of Gratitude,” Ensign, Nov. 2010)

Denali National Park in autumn, Alaska, USA, North America

Nathan got transferred from Glendale back to Phoenix today.  I think that this will be one of the hardest areas for him to leave – “It will be so sad to leave brother Fullmer’s house.”  I am thankful to Brother Fullmer for being a great role model and friend to Nathan (not to mention letting Nathan play his piano).  I know he will miss some of the people he has gotten to know (I will try to go by the S…’s tonight to get a picture with them, I definitely want to keep in touch with them.  We also started teaching this guy named Todd that we bumped into.  That has been my favorite part of this area is the ability to find and meet interested people) but I also know that he will find a lot of good people in the next area.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

