Me, a Pig? I Hope Not!

I was recently asked to help teach the 4,5,6, and 7 year-olds at church and this last Sunday was my first day.  All I can say is “Wow!”  It has been a really long time since I have attempted to teach (entertain?) children for 2 hours – like 15 years!   Let’s just say I came home wondering what exactly went wrong with my plans and how I am going to survive next week.  On day number 2 of pondering this question I see a post on FaceBook from Elder Wainwright: “Something cool that I learned from Jordan Villarreal at church on Sunday: when a pig is about to be slaughtered it can sense that it is coming and it will whine and squeal and struggle. When a lamb is about to be slaughtered it is completely calm. When our Savior, the Lamb of God, was about to be crucified, he was humble, calm, submissive and meek (Isaiah 53: 3-7). He gave us a perfect example of how to be humble throughout our trials.”  How did he know his mom needed a lesson on humility?  I can see that I have been behaving like a pig – whining, squealing and struggling.  What a great reminder that there is a better way to handle the real trials in life – not a room full of 8 children.  Still . . .

DSC_0012

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

