I’ll Love You Forever

When my children were little one of my favorite books to read to them was “I’ll Love You Forever” by Robert Munsch.  The story is of a mother who upon bringing home her newborn son sings to him “I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always.  As long as I’m living my baby you’ll be.”  She continues to sneak into his room at night to sing – even as he goes from the terrible twos to mischievous 8 year-old to a teenager and finally to a grown man.  I was reminded of his book this week as I watched my daughter rock her newborn baby son.  It is the beginning of a lifetime of tender moments.

I read it that book enough that I wonder if Nathan sometimes thinks I sneak to Phoenix to check on him – ” I acquired a new suit that I found too.  It was in the closet when I got here and it fits pretty well.  I am on the hunt today for brown shoes because they said the black ones don’t look good with it.”   Just kidding – I’m sure it doesn’t even cross his mind that his mom would sneak in to leave a suit.  But truth be told, I totally would.   “Funny thing from this week, we had an incredibly awkward lesson with a less active girl this week.  We went to the lesson with our Ward Mission Leader, Eli.  It was his day off and we brought him out with us for like 3 hours to go to a couple of lessons.  By the last lesson we had, we were teaching Vanessa and all of a sudden I felt his head fall on my shoulder.  He completely fell asleep.  I just started laughing.

By the way, the book ends with the son singing to his dying mother “I’ll love you forever I’ll like you for always.  As long as I’m living my mommy you’ll be.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ll Love You Forever

  1. Verla Brennan says:

    I love that book! It reminds that is what Heavenly Father feels! It also reminds me of what my Dad told me when he was terminally ill and died a few hours later. “I have always loved you but haven’t always liked your decisions and choices!” Unconditional Love!

Leave a Reply

