2 in 1

Well, I have 2 weeks of emails to fit into one page.  I am not quite sure what happened to my post last week . . . most likely human error.  Anyway, last week I asked Nathan what he remembered about a piano teacher who recently passed away.  Mr. Eddings was not only an accomplished musician and composer he had a special connection with his students.  When Nathan lost interest in piano lessons, we switched teachers in an effort to continue learning music.  Mr. Eddings let Nathan pick his songs and taught him to play by ear.  Nathan remembered that he would always say, “if you give a horse a sugar cube, he will do his tricks!”   Nathan went on to say, “Speaking of piano, sister Simon who some other elders live with, is teaching me how to chord. There is a lot more to the piano than I
originally thought, but some of the stuff (the first teacher) taught me turns out to be pretty helpful.”   I bet piano teachers love to hear that!

Last week Nathan ended his email with this “This is the last week of the transfer though, and I think elder Wade is getting transferred. That will be a sad day, we have had a really
good two transfers. Completely transformed the area, we didn’t have any investigators that had much interest when I first got here. I love the singles ward, I hope I finish my mission here.”  And this week he began with this “Well, Elder Wade is getting transferred tomorrow. He will be finishing his mission in a new area with a trainee. That is the way to go out.  I don’t think I will have that opportunity. I think this will be my last area.  But he is so excited. This transfer there are only 3 english speaking Elders coming in and all 3 of their trainers are from our zone. So how transfers go is that the assistants email us the names of who is getting transferred and we send it out in a text to the rest of the zone. There is a companionship that has a tough time getting along and they have been together for 2 transfers and I think they were both kinda banking on a change, but neither of their names were on the list. They texted us right after and said, “Are you serious?” I feel bad, it will be a long 6 weeks for them. But 2 of the 4 of us in our apartment are leaving. Elder Lower and I are staying here, he will be training a new missionary and I don’t know who my companion will be. Gotta love transfer week. I will be sad to see Elder Wade go…Well, yesterday I lost a good friend. Elder Laititi went home! He became a great missionary! His family is still living in Utah so I will probably get to see him when I get home.”

Last week: “The not awesome thing is that M… got bronchitis 2 days before her baptism, so now she is getting baptized on Thursday instead.” This week:  “M… got baptized on Thursday.  It was such a great baptism. Her whole family came, and they loved it. We also had 2 other investigators that we invited show up. They asked her to speak on Sunday, so when she had been a member of the church for about 10 minutes she got up to the pulpit and gave an incredible talk. It really was so well worded and she was confident and it was just great. Great sacrament meeting in general. We had two other investigators that came and they loved it. Our relief society President did a vocal solo and it was really good. We had a girl that we are teaching come and she was just blown away by it. So much good stuff going on.”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

